Car insurance is required in the Land of Lincoln. If you get caught driving without it, you could be fined up to $1,000, have your driver’s license suspended for three months, and pay up to $100 to reinstate your insurance. Rather than risking these penalties, you should use these tips to find Illinois minimum auto insurance.
Ask Insurers for Discounts
Since car insurance is legally required by the state, many drivers think asking for discounts isn’t worthwhile. You might be used to paying exorbitant premiums. This is a common feeling among car owners. Most insurers offer numerous discounts for car insurance. Ask insurers for a full list of discounts before signing up. You’ll be surprised about how many car insurance discounts exist.
Consider Raising Your Deductible
Auto insurance costs are split into two areas: premiums and deductibles. Premiums are monthly costs. Without paying premiums, you won’t have insurance coverage. Deductibles are one-time expenses paid to insurers to cover accident claims. If your only purpose for insurance is to meet the state’s requirements, consider raising your deductible to reduce your monthly premiums.
Raise Your Credit Score
Credit scores have wide-ranging implications. Car insurance underwriters have found that people with poor credit scores are more likely to incur accidents and file claims. To get Illinois minimum auto insurance, look for ways to improve your credit score. You’ll improve your finances and potentially lower your insurance simultaneously.
To get the lowest insurance in Illinois, visit Accurate Auto Insurance today.